The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, July 2, 2010


Soapbox Derby fields five cars

“I’LL BE BACK!” Joseph Poirier behind the wheel of the “Terminator”, which won first place for creativity. His dad Joe crouches behind. (Photo by Dave Ives)

Congratulations to this year’s Soapbox racers. Five cars and teams competed this year in one of the fastest races in the seven years of Carlisle Old Home Day competition. Some favorites from prior years returned to competition while two new racers debuted.

In addition to the racers, thanks also to their co-builders and spectators. Special thanks also to those supporting the race including Claude Von Roesgen, Pat Mullen, Corey Lofdahl, Steve Golson, Andy Gill and Dick Shohet.



1st Henry Hedden (“Nick of Time II”)

2rd Connor Lofdahl (“Carlisle Critter”)

3rd Jed Westwater (“Bostonator”)


1st Henry Hedden (“Nick of Time II”)

2nd Jed Westwater (“Bostonator”)

3rd Connor Lofdahl (“Carlisle Critter”)


1st Joseph C Poirier (“Terminator”)

2nd Henry Hedden (“Nick of Time II”)

3rd Jacob Golson (“Finite”) ∆


© 2010 The Carlisle Mosquito