The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, February 12, 2010

Mary Storrs joins Carlisle School Committee

The Selectmen and the Carlisle School Committee (CSC) voted on Tuesday evening to appoint Mary Storrs to temporarily fill the school committee seat vacated by Wendell Sykes last November. Storrs was elected as the clear front-runner on the first round of balloting. Storrs will hold the seat until the May 18 election when the town votes to fill two open three-year terms on the school committee. CSC member Dale Ryder will also not run for re-election at this time.

Board of Selectmen Chair Tim Hult explained the bylaw that required the Selectmen and CSC to jointly choose the replacement. A panel comprised of the two committees convened in the last week of January to meet four candidates for the open position. The candidates included Storrs, Patti Hartigan, Josh Kablotsky and Don Rober, who discussed their experience and school priorities. After the vote selecting Storrs, Hult thanked the candidates and encouraged them all to run in the May election.

Hult, Bill Tice, John Williams, Doug Stevenson and Peter Scavongelli cast votes for the Selectmen; Ryder, Bill Fink and Louis Salemy represented the CSC. ∆

© 2010 The Carlisle Mosquito