The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, September 29, 2006


Semifinalists and commended students in the 2007 National Merit Scholarship Program

Concord-Carlisle High School announced today that the following students have been named semifinalists in the 2007 National Merit Scholarship Program. Students from Carlisle are listed in bold:

Sarah Bollinger, Matthew Cogan, Cassidy Lane, Caitlin Moss, Alexander Staples-Moore and David Tobin.

Approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 52nd annual National Merit Scholship Program were announced by officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. These academically-talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards, worth $33 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level of the competition by fulfilling several requirements. About 90% of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing. About half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.

CCHS also announced that the following students have been named commended students in the 2007 National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation was presented to these scholastically talented seniors by Principal Arthur Dulong.

Michelle Bilodeau, Jane Bird, Andrew Brown, Christina Cicchetti, Olivia Cooney, Aurora Cremer, Kevin Donoghue, John Eldridge, Madeleine Haff, Jared Higgins, Benjamin Hoffman, Betty Jin, Becky Kung, Benjamin Lawrence, Diane Lee, Jesse Levine, Dina Megretskaia, William Mills, Kimberly Miner, Molly Nix, Katherine Nyholm, Deirdre Offenheiser, Catherine O'Kelly, Andres O'Laughlin, Alexander Ostrom, Rachel Pauplis, Alexander Pease, Callie Pioli, Priya Rajgopal, Maia Reed, Hannah Rogal, Jennifer Schloss, Erich Seifert, Juliana Slocum, Elyse Terry, Madeline Vellturo, Mark Wayland, Emily Yu and Sarah Zuerndorfer.

About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2007 competition for Merit Scholarship Awards, commended students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.4 million students who entered the 2007 competition by taking the 2005 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

2006 The Carlisle Mosquito