The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, July 14, 2006


31st Annual Carlisle Road Races

Tim Harte,Five-mile record-holder (25:58), returned to Carlisle to win this race for the ninth time in 29:30. Tim and second place finisher Roy Bondurant ran together with five-time winner John Dalton during the first half of the race. Tim and Roy then pulled away until the last two miles, when Tim took and held the lead. Roy held on to second with a time of 30:13, seven seconds ahead of John, who has returned to Carlisle after a seven-year hiatus in the Toronto area.

Winning the women's division was Megan Forsberg in 34:43 (10th overall). Eight time winner and course record-holder (31:51) Kim Ratcliffe was second in a time of 34:51, (11th overall). Karen Ringheiser took third place in 35:12 (12th overall). Karen took the early lead, joined by Kim on Maple Street and running closely together until the water stop before the turn onto East Street Kim's lead held until just about Kim's house, when Megan, a track coach at Wayland High School, overtook Kim and sprinted in to take the lead at the end.

In the one-mile race, Taylor Brophy bested last year's winner, David Tobin, by one second with a 5:05 time. The two ran together at the beginning, with David pulling ahead later on. In a very tactical finish, Taylor outkicked David in the final 100 yards. Christopher Bojanic, duplicating last year's 3rd place finish, followed in 5:45.

In the women's division, Karen Ringheiser won, uncontested, in a time of 6:17, 26 seconds off the course record. Kati Lerner was second in 6:21, with Morgan Evans taking 3rd in 6:33.

174 runners finished this year: 112 in the one-mile race (49 female), 62 in the five-mile race (19 female). The generous support of Ferns Market and the Vitamin Water Company provided Vitamin Water drinks for all runners and the helpers to distribute them, plus the water for the five-mile race water stop.

Family participation was significant again in both races. There were 15 families with at least three members running this year, accounting for 51 of the total 174 (29%). The Clarks, Forellis, Harrings, Herrs, Ratcliffes and Woodworths had four family members running; those with three included the Blues, Chirbans, Forsbergs, Petersons, Royces, Simons, Simontons, Szczesniaks and Wades.

To answer the questions of many regarding the reversal of this year's races: the one mile race was placed first (1) to improve the safety for the younger runners by closing the finish stretch on Church Street and (2) to facilitate the results tabulation for the awards ceremony and not conflict with the start of the parade. We welcome comments by phone or email, pro and con, about this reversal. We will make our decision about next year after considering your responses.

Since the race wouldn't be possible without the following individuals, many of whom have volunteered their time and expertise year after year, sincerest thanks go to: Susan Bondurant, Newell Cantrill, Jean Donnelly, Kay Edelberg, Sarah Goldsmith, Anne Halvorsen, Ken and Marilyn Harte, Ellen Huber, Rand Kmiec, Julie Lavely, Alistair, Lynn and Stan Lucks, Ollie Naidich, Amanda and Sarah Siedlar, and Mike Travisano. Our perennial gratitude to Sabrina Perry, the race line coordinator, who has volunteered countless hours of her time since the very first race in 1976, streamlining many forms and procedures and organizing the critical start/finish volunteers. I also want to thank the Carlisle Police for their traffic direction and control, trying to make both races safe for the runners.

If anyone is due a medal/ribbon but was not at the awards ceremony to accept it, please call Leslie or Ronald Kmiec at 1-978-369-6130, or e-mail

2006 The Carlisle Mosquito