The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, May 20, 2005

Pass It Forward Day

Lauren Means, Caroline Means, Theresa Fritz-Endres and Sarah Ganek collect blankets at the third annual Pass It Forward Day. (Photo by Mike Quayle)

On Saturday, May 14, Carlisle was host to thethird Pass It Forward Day. Representatives from area charities were at the transfer station to collect gently used items, including: bedding, blankets, furniture, lamps, dishes, cooking utensils, clothing and shoes, books, toys, decorative items for the home, and cell phones with chargers. This event was sponsored by the Household Recycling Committee.

Carlisle Junior MYWE musicians are (left to right): Tommy Veitch, Tyler Struss, Alex Japko and Katie Hendrickson. (Courtesy Photo)

Carlisle Public School and Carlisle Senior Band students Tommy Veitch, Tyler Struss, Alex Japko and Katie Hendrickson will be among the 45 musicians of the New England Conservatory's Junior Massachusetts youth Wind Ensemble presenting a program of works, including those by Berlioz, Bach and Smith, on Monday, June 6, at 7:30 pm at jordan Hall, 290 Huntington Ave in Boston. The concert is free and should be of interest to all music students and families. A reception will follow.

CSA teacher retirement party

On Monday, June 20, the Carlisle School Association will hold a party to honor retiring teachers Bill Tate and Ann James. The party will be held at Union Hall at the First Religious Society from 2:30 to 4:30 p.m. Refreshments will be provided. Families of current and former students of Mr. Tate and Mrs. James are invited to help us celebrate the careers of these dedicated, talented and much-loved teachers. Past students of Mr. Tate who are interested in helping with plans to honor him at the party, contact Lori Jiménez at 1-978-369-4703. Past students of Mrs. James who are interested in helping with plans to honor her at the party, contact Andi Gettys at 1-978-369-2392.

Rotary scholarships awarded

The Rotary Club of Concord announces it has awarded scholarships to this year's Rotary Youth Leadership Awards Conference to be held in June. The winners are: Lauren C. Lamere, Deirdre Offenheiser and Tess Guttadauro, all of Carlisle, and Molly Battle, Hannah Braaten, Cricky Cicchetti, Jennifer Schloss and Catherine Grace Whelan of Concord.

The candidates chosen qualified by showing leadership potential and good citizenship and showing a strong desire to benefit from the conference.

Carlisle students win medals at 2005 MICCA

Select middle school students from the Carlisle Public School attended the MICCA Junior Solo and Ensemble Festival on Saturday, April 30 at the Concord-Carlisle Regional High School. The festival was an opportunity for the students to receive a performance rating as a soloist or part of a small ensemble, in addition to having a clinic with their adjudicator. All the participating students from Carlisle received medals for their performance — Elena Shieh and Siobhan Galligan, gold medal for a flute duet; Norah Devlin, silver medal for a vocal solo; Rachel Landry, silver medal for a flute solo; and Lucy King and Madeline Monroe won a bronze medal for their trombone duet.

2005 The Carlisle Mosquito