The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, March 11, 2005


Town caucus to convene on Monday: Two Selectman positions are open and no candidates in sight

The annual town caucus, at which candidates are nominated for vacancies on elected town boards and committees, will be held on Monday, March 14, at 7:00 p.m. in the Clark Room at Town Hall.

This year, fourteen positions need to be filled. Heading the list of vacancies are two positions on the town's five-member Board of Selectmen. Selectmen John Ballantine and Deb Belanger have both declared that they are not seeking re-election. As of press time on Wednesday, no candidates have surfaced for this important executive body.

The Board of Health has three openings, including two new positions, which will expand the board from three members to five.

A list of open positions, incumbents, and whether they are willing to re-up (as of Wednesday) is on page 4.

Any registered voter in Carlisle may be nominated at the caucus, whether present or not. If more than two names are placed in nomination for any position, a vote will be taken at the caucus and only the top two vote getters will be placed on the ballot.

If you are not nominated you can still get on the ballot by filling out a "Town Nomination Paper, available from the Town Clerk, and obtaining 20 signatures. Nomination papers must be filed by Monday, March 20. Or, you can organize a write-in campaign at the Town Election.


Town Caucus is Monday, March 14

Two candidates can be nominated for each open position on an elected board or committee. The Town Caucus will convene at Town Hall at 7 p.m.

Position Incumbent
Term, yrs



Tom Raftery One Yes
Selectman John Ballantine three No
  Deb Belanger three


Assessor Charles Ferraro three Yes
Board of Health Lisa Davis Lewis one Undecided
  new position two -
  new position three -
Housing Authority Steven Pearlman five Yes
  resignation three -
Library Trustee Felix Conte three Yes
Planning Board Phyllis Zinicola three No
  Kent Gonzales three Yes
School Committee Nicole Burkel three Undecided
  Michael Fitzgerald three Yes

2005 The Carlisle Mosquito