The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, June 18, 2004


Chaput honored as 2004 River Steward

The River Steward Award for 2004 for outstanding contribution to the protection of the natural and scenic environments of the Assabet, Concord and Sudbury Rivers was presented posthumously to former Carlisle Selectman Vivian Chaput on Friday, June 11. Greg Peterson, of the Carlisle Conservation Foundation, accepted the award on behalf of Chaput's family. Chaput died in an automobile accident in Florida on March 6.

The reception and awards ceremony took place prior to the Third Annual Riverfest, at the Buttrick Mansion garden in the Minute Man National Historic Park. Congressman Martin Meehan welcomed guests and awardees, and reinforced the importance of vigilance in protecting our natural resources. Roger Kennedy, retired head of the National Park Service, presented an eloquent appeal for increased support of environmental professionals and standards. John Kerr, River Stewardship Council, noted the success of RiverFest with many participating organizations and more than forty activities offered this year.

The River Steward Award, sponsored by the League of Women Voters and the River Stewardship Council, recognizes outstanding commitment, innovative thinking and extra effort. Chaput was honored for her enthusiastic commitment to land planning and protection through 17 years of service on the Carlisle Planning Board and eight years as a Carlisle Selectman. She was instrumental in acquisition of the 130-acre O'Rourke Farm and the Kennelly Farm in Billerica. She helped secure the Community Preservation Act for Carlisle, whose funds were used to purchase 45-acre Benfield parcel A along Spencer Brook.

Awards were presented to individuals and organizations from Billerica, Concord, Lincoln, Maynard and Sudbury. Winners included Ellen Rawlings, Billerica; Vivian Chaput, Carlisle, Emma Schumacher, Elena Colman and Katie Lebling, Concord-Carlisle High School students; the Lincoln Green Fair Initiative, led by Anna Rollins, Rural Land Foundation and Jane Leyton, Conservation Commission; Jennifer Steel, Conservation Commission and Paul Boothroyd, Historical Society, for the restoration of the Ice House Landing in Maynard; and the Sudbury Earth Decade Committee.

2004 The Carlisle Mosquito