The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, May 14, 2004


Parcel A Planning Task Force takes shape

The first members of the Benfield Parcel A Planning Task Force were revealed at the Board of Selectmen meeting on May 11. The task force will consist of eight members and be assigned the planning process to develop affordable housing and a ballfield for Parcel A of the Benfield land on South Street. An amount of $50,000 was voted at the Special Town Meeting to fund this process.

The eight-member task force will consist of a representative from the Board of Selectmen, one representative from the community at large, two from the Parcel A neighborhood, and one member each from the Housing Authority, Planning Board, Conservation Commission, and Recreation Commission. The Selectmen sent a letter to those groups involved, requesting their recommendations by May 11 in hopes of having the final task force in place by June 1.

At a meeting last week, 21 residents of the Parcel A neighborhood gathered and chose South Street residents Alan Carpenito and Raymond Kubacki as their representatives, with Karen Rigg, also of South Street, as alternate. The Carlisle Housing Authority has nominated Alan Lehotsky as their rep, the Planning Board chose Phyllis Zinacola, and the Recreation Commission, although they have not voted, expects to nominate Allen Deary. The Selectmen voted to have John Ballantine as their representative. Yet to be heard from is the Conservation Commission, which meets Thursday. The Selectmen are still seeking a person from the community at large to round out the eight member group.

2004 The Carlisle Mosquito