The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, June 13, 2003


Greg Peterson receives River Steward Award

Former Congressman Chet Atkins presented a River Steward Award to Carlisle resident Greg Peterson on Friday, June 6 at the start of the RiverFest 2003 celebration at the Buttrick Mansion in the Minuteman National Historic Park. The RiverFest celebration has been established to honor the 1999 designation by Congress of the Sudbury, Assabet and Concord Rivers as National Wild and Scenic Rivers.

Greg Peterson (left) receives the River Steward Award from former Congressman Chet Atkins at the start of the RiverFest 2003 celebrations. (Photo by Art Milliken)
The Concord-Carlisle League of Women Voters and the River Stewardship Council created the awards to honor individuals or organizations which have demonstrated innovative thinking, or efforts that improved or enforced laws to preserve the watershed.

Peterson was nominated for the award by Carlisle Selectman Vivian Chaput. Her nomination read, in part:

"Greg, as a leader in the Carlisle Land Trust, coordinated and shepherded the purchase of the O'Rourke Farm in Carlisle and the subsequent resale to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for open space and wildlife preservation purposes. The property abuts the Concord River and Great Meadows National Wildlife Refuge.

When the O'Rourke Farm came out of Chapter 61 farm use in 1997, town officials worked quickly to coordinate an effort to purchase the property....Greg had led the legal effort and a major push to get Town Meeting to approve the purchase in November 1997. The townspeople voted $1,800,000 for the property to protect it from development, with no assurances that federal reimbursement would be forthcoming.

Then, again with Greg's leadership, many people were involved with the negotiations with the federal government and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to purchase the property to add to the Great Meadows Wildlife Refuge. The sale was carried out and the farm is now open space with trails and water rights to the town as well as a wildlife refuge."

Peterson is one of nine award-winners from the shoreline communities. A prestigious application selection committee carefully reviewed applications, and included: Laura Johnson, president of the Massachusetts Audubon Society; two state League of Women Voters representatives · Martha Stevenson, Mass. League Water Resources Chair, and Mary Jane Morin, Mass. League Natural Resources Chair; and two River Stewardship Council representatives · Julia Blatt, director of Organization for the Assabet River, and Ron McAdow, director of Sudbury Valley Trustees.

2003 The Carlisle Mosquito