The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, May 23, 2003


Regional School Committee welcomes new members

The 2003-2004 Concord-Carlisle Regional School Committee members are (front, left to right) Betsy Bilodeau, Meg Gaudet, and Rebecca Shannon, (back, left to right) Jerry Wedge, Michael Fitzgerald, Nicole Burkel, outgoing Superintendent of Schools Eugene Thayer. Missing is Patrick Sinnott. (Photo by Cynthia Sorn)

The atmosphere was relaxed and jovial as the Concord-Carlisle Regional School Committee welcomed a new board member and voted new appointments at the May 14 meeting. Carlisle resident Michael Fitzgerald was voted in as the chair of the regional school committee, with Concord resident Pat Sinnott as vice chair. Members of the committee are Concord resident Betsy Bilodeau, who is also chair of the Concord School Committee (CPS), Concord resident Rebecca Shannon, vice chair of CPS, Concord resident Meg Gaudet, Carlisle resident Nicole Burkel, and Concord resident Jerry Wedge, who replaces Lauren Walters. Wedge was reminded that his new position requires eight hours of school board training during the next year. Regina Erickson was appointed treasurer of the regional district, replacing Deirdre Farrell. Louisa Slocum will again represent the Student Advisory Council.

Representative appointments include Fitzgerald to the Adult & Community Education committee, Bilodeau and Burkel to the Educational Collaborative of Great Boston, Wedge to the CASE collaborative, and Shannon to the Suburban Coalition.

2003 The Carlisle Mosquito