The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, May 23, 2003


Town observes Memorial Day

The Memorial Day observances will begin at 9:30 a.m. on the Common with the raising of the flag to half-staff by the Carlisle Minutemen. Formal exercises will begin promptly at 10:00 a.m. in the Abigail Corey Auditorium with Master of Ceremonies Doug Stevenson introducing the following events: the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts posting the Colors, the Girl Scouts leading the Pledge of Allegiance, the singing of our national anthem, the giving of the invocation, and the introduction of our speaker, Joshua Klein. Following the Memorial Day address by Klein, selections will be played by the Carlisle School band and chorus under the direction of Thomas O'Halloran and Megan Fitzharris, the Benediction will be given, and the Color Guard will retire the colors. Immediately after the formal exercises conclude, the parade will form in the parking lot.

Scott Evans, Captain of the Carlisle Minutemen, will again serve as this year's Parade Marshal. Under his direction, the parade will follow the traditional route down Church Street to the Green Cemetery, up Bedford Road to the Civil War monument at the rotary, to the war memorials on the common, and finish at the town flagpole where the flag will be raised to full-staff while the band plays "The Star Spangled Banner." At each stop prayers will be said, wreaths placed, a gun salute fired, and taps and echo played. Following a long tradition, a wreath will also be laid at the gravesite of the most recent veteran to be buried in Green Cemetery. Other veterans who were buried at Green Cemetery this year will also be named. The parade will include veterans, scouts, clergymen, Minutemen, the speaker, Selectmen, and the Carlisle School band.

Immediately after the parade, juice and cookies will be served to the children outside the Carlisle school cafeteria. A luncheon will be served at Union Hall. (See box, page 5.)

Memorial Day gives all of us an opportunity to honor those who have served our country. The Celebrations Committee, Barbara Culkins, Scott Evans, Norman Fredkin, Judy Larson, and Douglas Stevenson invite and encourage all Carlisle residents to participate in this traditional ceremony.

2003 The Carlisle Mosquito