The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, March 28, 2003


The required quorum of 25 was easily achieved as 50 town residents attended the town caucus on Monday evening. Carlisle Town Clerk Sarah Andreassen opened the proceedings by asking for nominations for a moderator and clerk for the caucus. Howard Hensleigh and Judy Larson were elected unanimously to the respective positions.

The slate of candidates nominated by the caucus is shown in the table. Since no more than two names were submitted for any opening, there were no run-off votes required at the caucus.

Citizens can also run for office by filling out a "Town Nomination Paper," available at the town clerk's office at Town Hall, and obtaining 20 signatures. Only signatures of voters registered in the Town of Carlisle will be counted. Nomination papers must be filed with the town clerk by 5:00 p.m. on March 31. In addition, any person not on the ballot can campaign as a write-in candidate.

Before asking for a motion to adjourn, Hensleigh referred to the war in Iraq and recalled that the country has faced many difficult times in its past. "We come through these times one at a time," he said, "and our democracy has survived.

Fifty residents crowded into the Clark Room at Town Hall at the town caucus to select candidates for open town positions. (Photo by Midge Eliassen)


Candidates nominated by town caucus

Town office Candidate Term
Town moderator Tom Raftery 1 No
Town clerk Sarah Andreassen 3 Yes
Selectman Doug Stevenson 3 Yes
Tony Allison 3 No
Francene Amari-Faulkner   No
Bruce Hendrickson 3 Yes
Board of health Michael Holland 3 No
Housing authority Jack Bromley 5 Yes
Library trustee
Brooke Cragan 3 Yes
  Ted Read   No
Planning board David Freedman 5 Yes
Planning board Dan Holzman 3 Yes
  Tom Schultz   No
Planning board Rich Colman 5 No
School committee
David Dockterman
3 Yes

2003 The Carlisle Mosquito