The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, August 2, 2002


Amendment to the Community Preservation Act is signed into law

A change to the Community Preservation Act (CPA) that will strengthen the act was signed into law last week. The amendment proposed by State Senator Susan Fargo and Representative Charles Murphy will allow cities and towns who have adopted the act to use CPA funds to pay for vital improvements to historic town-owned buildings.

"This amendment fixes a glitch in the Community Preservation Act law while preserving the original intent of that program," said Senator Fargo. "Now communities can get to the task of preserving all their historic resources."

The CPA creates a dedicated funding source for cities and towns for open space, historic preservation and affordable housing through a property tax surcharge and state matching funds. The original language allowed for the use of funds to preserve historic landmarks only if CPA funds were used to purchase such locations.

"Many communities that have passed the Community Preservation Act have been forced to delay their plans because of this problem," states Murphy. "This is a solution that will allow these plans to move forward and perhaps prompt more communities to take advantage of this program."

The new language will allow nearly all CPA communities to use funds for handicapped access and other improvements to make these properties usable or meet building code requirements. Now the 51 cities and towns that have adopted the law will have access to CPA funds to make needed repairs and improvements to historic town halls, libraries, memorial halls, cemeteries and other historic treasures.

CPA in Carlisle

Carlisle's Community Preservation Committee (CPC) has asked the Historical District Commission and The Historical Society to provide a list of needs and priorities for hostorical preservation in town. A minimum of 10% of the funds raised through the CPA tax surcharge must be used for preserving historical sites or buildings.

Towns adopting CPA

The following cities and towns have adopted the CPA since its inception 18 months ago: Agawam, Amherst, Aquinnah, Ashland, Ayer, Bedford, Boxford, Braintree, Cambridge, Carlisle, Chatham, Chelmsford, Chilmark, Cohasset, Dartmouth, Dracut, Duxbury, Easthampton, Easton, Georgetown, Grafton, Hampden, Harvard, Hingham, Holliston, Hopkington, Leverett, Marshfield, Medway, Nantucket, Newton, Norfolk, N. Andover, Norwell, Peabody, Plymouth, Rockport, Rowley, Scituate, Southampton, Stockbridge, Stow, Sturbridge, Sudbury, Tyngsborough, Wareham, Wayland, Westford, Weston, Westport and Williamstown.

Portions of the above story were received fro m the office of Senator Susan fargo.

2002 The Carlisle Mosquito