The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, April 27, 2001


Carlisle awarded $158,525 to defray cost of upgrades to trash facility

The North East Solid Waste Committee (NESWC) announced that the Town of Carlisle was awarded $158,525 from the Massachusetts Renewable Energy Trust Fund to help offset the community’s share of costs of federally mandated environmental upgrades to its regional waste-to-energy facility. The grant is part of a $16.6 million award to the 23 northeast Massachusetts communities who send the non-recycled portion of their trash to a disposal facility located in North Andover.

The 23 NESWC communities pay average trash disposal fees of $122 per ton, which is more than twice the statewide average and the cost continues to increase. This financial burden resulted from a retrofit of the disposal facility, required by the Federal Clean Air Act, and the back-end loading of the original debt obligation established by the 1983 financing. Today, the outstanding principal yet to be paid is approximately $140 million.

The Massachusetts Technology Park Corporation (MTPC) administers the Fund, a grant program established by the Legislature as part of the Electric Restructuring Act of 1997. Fund monies promote a cleaner environment, help ensure a more diverse energy generation portfolio and reduce fiscal pressure on municipal budgets.

“The Town of Carlisle continues to face rising municipal waste disposal costs as a result of heightened environmental standards. This grant program will help communities pay for these rising costs and help to solve an important environmental problem,” said Greg Watson, director of MTPC’s Renewable Energy Trust Fund.

The NESWC communities that deliver non-recycled solid waste to the Massachusetts Refuse Tech, Inc. facility located in North Andover are: Acton, Andover, Arlington, Bedford, Belmont, Boxborough, Burlington, Carlisle, Dracut, Hamilton, Lexington,Lincoln, Manchester-by-the-Sea, North Andover, North Reading, Peabody, Tewksbury, Watertown, Wenham, Westford, West Newbury, Wilmington and Winchester.