The Carlisle Mosquito Online

Friday, April 6, 2001


No contested races for town leadership, so far

Town caucus on Monday night April 2 resulted in a nearly perfect match between the openings on elected boards and candidates to fill them. The exception was the Carlisle Housing Authority, which lacks a nominee for an open one year term.

Thus, all town elections could be uncontested this year, unless nominating papers with twenty-five certified signatures are filed for other candidates by 5 pm next Monday, April 9, or write-in candidacies develop before the May 22 town election.

Tim Hult of Audubon Lane, a former school committee member, was nominated for the board of selectmen by Michael Fitzgerald, whose second term as selectman ends this year.

Nearly all candidates are incumbents nominated for additional terms: Sarah Brophy for moderator; Paul Morrison and Suzanne Whitney Smith for school committee; Michael Epstein for planning board; Mary Cheever for library trustee; Martha Bedrosian and Lisa Davis-Lewis for board of health. (Lisa Davis-Lewis has been serving as a temporary member of the board of health, in a temporary appointment lasting until the spring election.

Nonincumbent candidates are James Marchand of Russell St. and Charles Ferraro of Spencer Brook Lane, both running for board of assessors.

+YEAR+ The Carlisle Mosquito