Friday, May 22, 1998

CCHS students' achievements acknowledged

by Tom Curtin

The Concord-Carlisle High School's annual awards assembly on Monday, May 18 was a wonderful opportunity to recognize the many accomplishments of this year's students. Principal Elaine DiCicco congratulated the recipients of the many book, special, and departmental awards. Other important awards and scholarships will be given out at graduation June 6. Given the large number of awards, only the book and special awards winners will be addressed here. Departmental and the other remaining recognitions will be reported later.

Among the most prestigious awards for juniors are the college book awards, given by ten colleges' alumni to juniors nominated by and voted on by the faculty. While the specific award descriptions vary they generally honor combined excellence in scholarship, extra-curriculars, leadership, service and character. Detailed descriptions of the awards are in the Awards Booklet available in the Principal's office. The Harvard Book Prize has traditionally been the top award for juniors because it is the first book prize and because of Harvard's special relationship with the town, including its having been located in Concord for a year during the American Revolution. This year's winners were Rebecca Muse-Orlinoff and Patrick Toomey. Other book prize winners were as follows: Helen Stevens (Brown Book Award), Troy Chang (Columbia College Book Award), Rachel Atwater-Rhodes (Connecticut College Book Award), Jennie Granato (Dartmouth Book Award), Patrick Toomey (Hamilton College Prize), Jacob Chused (Holy Cross Book Award), Carrie Andreson (Lehigh Club of Boston Book Award), Dana Gauthier (Mount Holyoke Club of Boston Book Award), Sarah Laverty (University of Michigan Book Award), Daniel Ferguson (University of Pennsylvania Award), Megan Moran-Gates (Skidmore Book Award), Noah Miller (Williams College Book Award) and Bryan Choi (Yale Book Award).

Christopher Hossfeld is one of twenty Presidential Scholars in the Arts in the country. The Award recognizes his outstanding musical achievements in both performance and composition.

The Wells A. Hall Memorial Scholarship was given to Robert Murphy and James Francis in honor of Superintendent of Schools Hall who helped establish the prominence of the Concord Public Schools during his thirty-one year superintendency. In addition to other qualities of excellence, the award recognizes the recipient's living "with due regard for the rights of others".

The junior Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award was presented to Joshua Baratz for "performing to an outstanding degree in science". Ryan Matley received the Albert R. Kaufman Award, awarded by Starmet Corporation "to that senior who has a strong interest in science or engineering, as well as interest in other disciplines". A second scholarship from Starmet Corporation, the Paul Lowenstein Scholarship, was given to Caitlin Gaffey for her achievement in science and her decision to study engineering. The Thomas Dillon Physics Award for the most outstanding student in physics went to Rand Kmiec. The Joseph Regan Award for the most outstanding biology student was given to Bethany Andreson. The Joseph P. O'Brien Memorial Chemistry Award for the best second year chemistry student went to Stephen Hackbarth. The Rensselaer Alumni Award for "the junior who has done the best work in math and science throughout his/her high school program" was awarded to Patrick Toomey. The Colorado School of Mines Awards for "strong ability and achievement in the fields of math and science" was also awarded to junior Patrick Toomey. Freshman Jody Kelman received the Earth Science Award for 'showing the best mastery and understanding of earth science as it applies to other academic disciplines." Stephen Hackbarth was acknowledged for his third place finish in the Northeast in the American Chemical Society Avery Ashdown Chemistry Competition. Joshua Baratz and Stephen Hackbarth are Nominees for the 1998 . Chemistry Olympiad Team; Stephen Hackbarth is a Nominee for the 1998 U.S. Physics Olympiad Team. J. R. Mead was awarded the Sophomore Math Award which acknowledges the most outstanding student in the sophomore mathematics program. The Douglas Award for the outstanding student in industrial arts went to Stefan Schueller.

Stephen Hackbarth was the recipient of the James A. Hayes Award for his demonstration of "extraordinary interest and excellence in social studies." Patrick Toomey received the D.A.R. Book Award for showing "the greatest proficiency in the study of U.S. History". Junior Noah Miller was awarded the Xerox Award for "outstanding achievement in the humanities and/or social sciences". The Political Science Award for "the senior who has shown the greatest interest and ability in the art of government" was given to Lindsay Macdonald. The Kathleen Healy Memorial Award for senior baseball and softball players with excellent academic and athletic records were awarded to Leiann Beaty and Benjamin Davis.

The Massachusetts Foreign Language Association (MaFLA) awards to the most outstanding students in advanced language courses went to Vincent Siegal (Chinese), Joshua Wright (French), Leo Martin (Latin), and Morgane Boissel (Spanish). In addition, the MaFLA awarded their Leadership Award to Katie Williams. The French and Spanish Medals, awarded to the "most outstanding students" in French and Spanish, went to Joshua Wright and Morgane Boissel respectively. Outstanding performance in French also earned Joshua Wright the Elaine Hardie Award. The Hispanic Achievement Award for the Hispanic student with the highest grade point and excellence in all subject areas went to Gladys Foreman-Rios. The Mim Clark and John O'Connell Awards, given to the most outstanding students in physical education, went to Rebecca May and Nell Badrinarain.

The Paula Sirois Award was given to Ian Crowther for winning first place in the annual poetry competition. Samantha Bodkin and Joshua Wright received Honorable Mention in the poetry competition. The Hawthorne Book Award was given to Shevaun Mizrahi for her "outstanding scholarship and special interest in and enthusiasm for the study of American Literature."

For "outstanding commitment to community service," Elizabeth Adelman was awarded the Maureen Taggart Award. The Concord-Carlisle Community Chest Service Awards for students who have "demonstrated initiative and commitment to a volunteer project within the area of human services" went to Julie Beckerdite, Elizabeth Cope, Usha Narayana, Megan Miller, Lauren Romano and Laura Woodward. Elizabeth Adelman and Megan Miller received the Prudential Spirit of Community Certificate of Merit and Usha Narayana received the World of Difference Institute Certificate. The Eleanor Baldwin Fenn Award for outstanding community service and participation in the political process went to Joshua Wright. The Ann Geisinger Award for "outstanding commitment to community service" was given to Pamela Spillert. The D.A.R. Good Citizen Award went to senior Katherine Spooner for exemplifying "the qualities of leadership, dependability, service, and patriotism". Julia Case accepted the Norma Hewey Uraneck Award for best exemplifying "the qualities of honesty, sincerity, dependability and concern for others". David Andrews and Lindsay Macdonald were this year's winners of the Ralph L. "Larry" Lyons Memorial Award, sponsored by the Hudson National Bank, for seniors who have demonstrated "kindness, consideration, and concern for others". Urvashi Upadhyay was presented the Barbara Ramsey Award for her "commitment to public service with special attention to service."

The community has provided a great service by helping to create such an array of awards through which to recognize the breadth of achievement of our young people.